John Green- The Fault In Our Stars

This is a book that will live with me for the rest of my life. I will remember Hazel when I meet a cancer patient. John Green is talented. I don’t think his talent requires my approval. As I was turning the pages I was just wondering how Green wrote this book. He provided specific details, I really appreciate all the research he has done. I remember reading somewhere that a reader can critique a book they read but not the book that the writer wrote.
Don’t get me wrong, I am not going to critique it.
However, I ended up rating this book 3/5.
This book will have a long lasting impact on me. There is absolutely no doubt.
I was just a little taken aback by Augustus’s dialogues. He is portrayed as a 17 year old. I really wonder if ANYONE talks like him. I know he is wounded. I know he is fighting for his life but his dialogues really bothered me.
The other problem I had was understanding HOW they fell in love with each other in a matter of few weeks. So much so that Hazel referred to their as the “star crossed love”. That is something I really don’t understand.
As a character Hazel was more understandable than Augustus. That is perhaps because we are reading Hazel’s perspective.
But, without these it was a great read. I will read Green’s other work. If you haven’t read it , you definitely should

Leave a Reply

