TIPS on being a female photographer!

Well in my experience as a female photographer, I have been truly blessed to have mostly respectful clients but in more than one occasion I have had to deal with a guest hitting on me or asking me to dance. So what to do in such situations? Also, because of my height and baby face people don’t take me very seriously. In the last 11 months, I have learned to overcome such situations. I have also made sure my gender, and my looks don’t determine my ability.

First and Foremost :
– Dress normally, if not professionally. I put minimal makeup, conceal blemishes, try to look well groomed. I mostly wear jeans and a shirt.
– Don’t try to look attractive, try to look approachable.

– When you are confirming a deal always show professionalism.
– Avoid talks about your age
– If someone is trying to flirt with you, or ask you to dance TURN THEM DOWN NICELY. I have turned people down in my “sweetest” way. I reply ” smile please” and take a photo.
– Always have a smile on, but make sure you look serious about your job.
– Don’t take “breaks”. Stay on your feet as much as possible.
– If you are bothered by a certain incident, don’t let that show.

– There will always be outrageous requests from clients and it may be hard for you to fulfill them , turn them down nicely and remind them about your contract again (nicely)

Leave a Reply

