20 things to do before 20

Okay, so I sat down with myself the other day and made a list , and decided I have two months left of being a teenager !
I will be 20 !!
Now for the past three years, I was in a  bad place for personal reasons, my readers know why though 🙂

So I came up with 20 things I would like to do before 20 (note somethings are not easy, but you can always modify them)

Get a credit card : If you’re as irresponsible as me, you probably have one and spent all the credit but if you’re responsible you do know that you need a credit score (a good one) and for that you need to be good with  credit cards . I am going to be 20, but my credits are in bad shape I came up with a payment plan now so let’s see if I can slowly pay it off. My goal is to be debt free this year.

Get a job/ start a small business  : I started a small business which gives me decent enough income, I don’t have any car payments or major payments so my expenditure isn’t much. I am no longer a shopaholic , live with my family so for me it’s extra pocket money. I considered getting a job but my resume isn’t impressive enough and I haven’t really been persistent either.

Try a sport : I am not athletic so I haven’t tried a sport yet but I am probably going to take up squash (if that counts as a sport)

Learn a new language : I know many people have a second language , but I am trying to learn Japanese ! So you should too.

Save : I am trying to save $1000, but you should always save according to your limits. For me, as I said I have no major payments to worry about so saving it is easy. For instance, today my Ipad charger broke but I won’t replace it until I have enough money and I could do without my Ipad for a few days anyway.

Run a mile everyday for 1 month : THIS is very important , you can train yourself to run a mile or if you’re fit you should try running on the treadmill for everyday. Eventually, you will be in a habit.

Take up Yoga/ Zumba : I took up Zumba , and I do yoga at home but doing Zumba in a group setting is a lot of fun , do try it if you have’t already.

Don’t eat carbs/ sugar for a month : By carbs I mean bad carbs , and bad sugar! Try boycotting it for 1 month and you will be good to go.

Don’t watch TV for a month : I tried but failed . I watch a lot of soaps , so I can’t seem to give it up. But I will start from March (fingers crossed)

Give up an obsession/ addiction : I am addicted to checking my mail and my ipad, I am trying to limit my use.

Go on a reading spree : My bucket list has read all Nicholas Sparks books , and all Pretty little liars books so I am trying to finish reading those.

Give someone a makeover : I really want to do this, but I can’t find anyone who would be interested in it. All my friends are pretty made over lol. But if you know someone, you should try it!

Go an entire day without technology : this means no phone, tv, or even oven! I couldn’t do it since the first thing I reach for when I wake up is my phone and that pretty much does it for you . But I will try it soon.

Raise money for a charity : I think everyone should try it! If you haven’t done it , do it already. I do charity very often but I haven’t raised money for a long time.

Read the Bible/ The Quran / a religious scripture : I am reading the Bible and the Quran. I hope to have it finished before my birthday!

Go bungee jumping or skydiving : I really want to do this before my birthday or on my birthday. I am hoping to do bungee jumping though , too scared for skydiving!

Make a gratitude list and read it on your 20th birthday : I won’t be celebrating my birthday but I will probably make a gratitude list for my readers or my family/ friends so they can read it .

Get a pet : Many of us grow up with pets but some don’t know the experience of having a pet and caring for it. My life has been so much better since I got my cat, and I have become a better person (I hope so) .

Study a topic you would like to know more about : I am studying about animal cruelty, and also about adoption. If you want to know more on any topic consider reading up on it on the internet/ library.

Learn to be happy alone : During our teenage years, we become so attached to our boyfriends/ girlfriends that we forget we are an individual. Dependance is not a good thing and you should do things for yourself and by yourself.

2 thoughts on “20 things to do before 20

Leave a Reply

